Film Classification

Performance Certificates Explained »

All film classification decisions are based on the British Board of Film Classification's (BBFC) published and regularly updated guidelines.
Proof of age may be required. 
    U (Universal) the film is suitable for audiences aged four and over.
    PG (Parental Guidance) General viewing, but some scenes may be unsuitable for some children.
    12A - No one under the age of 12 may see the film unless they are accompanied by a guardian aged 18 or over.
    15 - No one under the age of 15 may see a 15 film in the cinema.
    18 - No-one under 18 is allowed to see an 18 film at the cinema.


If we ask for proof of age, we accept these forms of ID. Your Movie Magic Card cannot be used as proof of age. 
  • Passport
  • Photo driving licence
  • Student or school pass (this must show your photo and date of birth)
  • VALIDATE UK card
  • PASS Scheme
  • Some other forms of official photo ID